Families should be responsible for caring for the elderly. Do you agree or disagree?

As there are more seniors today than in the past, taking care of the elderly seems to be a frequent issue for numerous families. Many individuals believe that caring for seniors must be their families’ responsibility. From my perspective, I agree with this point of view for several following reasons.

The first reason is that family care often seems to be much better for seniors than any other type of caring service. Obviously, not all families are in a position to have sufficient time or financial conditions to ensure the best caring environments for elderly members in their families. However, seniors’ offspring can always be with and take care of them with lots of love and respect. In many cases, staying at home with other family members even helps improve the elderly’s physical and mental health. This makes sense as there are no feelings of being lonely or isolated inside their minds, and they can have companionship and family support almost whenever they need. This gradually improves seniors’ well-being, making them have a more optimistic outlook about their issues, and even have positive effects on their physical health.

Moreover, looking after ageing parents are better off being one of the top priorities for their offspring. The elderly, have spent most of their life to look after and help their children flourish into well-rounded individuals. They sacrifice to bring up their offspring while trying to earn a living to raise the whole family. Seniors have tried their best to make the family’s living conditions to be better, so children and other members should care for them not only by responsibility but also by unconditional love. Many young adults choose nursing homes for their ageing parents, but they may never know what their parents are forced to do and how pessimistically they feel day by day.

To sum up, I firmly agree with the point of view that seniors should be taken care of by their beloved families. Family care, in many cases, can be the most relevant caring type to the elderly, for it takes them away from pessimistic feelings. Looking after ageing family members should be a top priority for members of younger generations, as the elderly have spent most of their lives caring for others.