With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that an increasing number of people in today's society is prone to use fast food instead of home-cooked food. Whilst there are some possible reasons supporting the frequent use of fast food, I believe that fast food has its own drawbacks that we should take into account and that its benefits hardly outweigh these drawbacks.

On the one hand, there is a wide range of plausible explanations as to why fast food has increasingly become more popular. First, whilst fast food traditionally comprises unhealthy options such as burgers or fries, many modern fast foods also involve healthy choices. For example, some salads have low calories and a hamburger might offer only roughly 360 calories. Second, it usually takes some minutes to wait until a fast food is served. As such, you can save a wealth of time when having fast food compared to having main meals in sit-down locations or preparing meals at home. Third, fast foods could enable families to save money. Accordingly, a sandwich and a drink might cost only from $2-$3.

On the other hand, fast food has considerable disadvantages that people should consider beforehand. For instance, compared with home-cooked foods, food qualities of fast foods are seen as considerably lower. Indeed, quick service restaurants are prone to use frozen foods to save cooking time. The use of long-term storage allows these restaurants to keep their prices low, however, this limits the use of other alternatives such as fresh meats or organic vegetables. In addition, fast foods contain some ingredients that are addictive. For example, a combination of high salt and high fat foods and soda is highly palatable but encourages addiction in some individuals. These foods are likely to give rise to health problems due to its harmful ingredients. Furthermore, when a family goes to a quick service restaurant for the main meal, they would be unable to have enough time to catch up with each other due to the policies of these restaurants. Consequently, families only focus on eating their foods as fast as possible and leave before having enough time to build family relationships during meals.

In conclusion, while there are many convincing explanations as to why many citizens tend to choose fast foods instead of home-cooked foods for lunch or dinner, fast foods have its own serious disadvantages. As such, I believe that fast foods should only be consumed in moderation to maintain good health and develop strong bonds between family members.