Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, the rhythm of our life became changing in an immensely fast rate bringing different changes including languages, being used around the world. some languages have been taking over the world such as the english language, in contrast to the decline of some local languages. this essay will discuss both the positive and negative effects of this trend.

First of all, the major advantage of that trend is that it would help to unify people around the globe. using the same language between people allows the opening to new cultures and social habits, and hence, better communication. In other words, some people would develop their social skills, while being in contact with the population from a more developed community. Moreover, it can increase the chance for better education and pursuing a good career. For instance, the enhancement of English skills is now one of the mandatory requirements for studying or working abroad. Thus, for some languages, being in common among populations can bring many benefits.

However, there is a major drawback of that issue. while some languages become widespread, many local languages are at risk of becoming extinct. In other words, native speakers became less familiar with their mother tongue, therefore, this may have a negative impact on their culture as well on a long perspective. native languages are crucial in shaping the community and emphasize the feeling of belonging to the homeland. that's why, it's the responsibility of the community to preserve their original tongue, so that they can save their own and unique identity.