Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, some people argue that languages are used in different countries while other languages are rapidly losing. Despite the fact that there are numerous demerits, I personally believe that there are far more merits and in this essay I will give some examples to support my idea.

The main negatives of this case with regards to the disappearance of the culture which is created by language. This means that language is one of symbols which seem to impart the vibe of a nation to all people. If the usage of any language decreases significantly, such nations can be lost. For example, in Japan, the governments incentivize their citizens to use Japanese everywhere there. Not only does this help foreigners know more about Japan’s culture but it also prevents Japanese from losing in the future.

Despite the downsides of this case, I personally argue that there are numerous perks surrounding this case. People can use only one language in all countries around the world. In fact, people, nowadays, spend a huge sum of money on learning foreign languages, especially English. This means that if there is only one language which is spoken in the world, it can help people save their money for rainy days. Moreover, they can invest this purchase on learning and possessing a collection of soft skills which seem to be necessary to the future career. Moreover, it is likely to increase the foreign tourism because the difference of languages are preventing many people from going overseas. Therefore, if there is the same language in all countries, people find it easier to go abroad.

In conclusion, while there are various detrimental consequences surrounding this pitfall, I strongly believe that they are not still outweighed by the positives which can get easier for many people when travelling to other countries.