Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Today, we do not belong to a big planet called Earth. We are part of a global village and there is more interaction among people of different parts of the globe than ever before. Therefore, some languages are being spoken more and the use of a few languages is declining. This is both – a negative as well as a positive development.

On the positive side, the increasing use of some languages is easing communication among people. For example, English is now spoken in more than 86 countries of the world and French in around 33 countries. In fact English has become the lingua franca in many parts of the world. Because of this people do not face difficulty when they travel from one country to the other. What is more, if people speak the same language then they also find it easy to do business with each other. Global trade is based on good communication. We all know that lack of communication gives rise to many misunderstandings. Businesses cannot flourish if for every small communication an interpreter is required.

Nowadays, we belong to a 24/7 society. Many multinational companies have opened in different parts of the world. The rich nations who own these MNCs provide jobs to millions of people worldwide. Naturally, a person who knows their language is better placed in these companies. The pay package is also better and chances to work abroad also go up. In a way the widespread use of a few languages also helps to decrease the gap between the rich and the poor.

On the downside, the decline in use of some languages is also something to be concerned about. It is a well known fact that language and culture are inter-related. If languages die out then culture also dies out. We all enjoy life on this planet because of its diversity. If diversity decreases, then boredom sets in and the earth becomes a dull and boring place to live in.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, the increase in use of a few languages and the decline of others is both a positive as well as a negative development. This situation is an inevitable sequel of globalization. If the governments take steps to protect the endangered languages, then the negative effects can be minimized.