A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is true that there was a rise of several languages in some countries, while the number of people who talk some languages has declined. In my opinion, this trend has both advantages and disadvantages.

On the first hand, people begin to know many kinds of languages have some benefits impacts on the community. Firstly, the most advantage is that people can communicate with others who are not native easier. For example, English is the popular language that broadens all across the world because it is very popular and easy to communicate among people with different language backgrounds. Another reason is that if citizens in A have expert more than 2 languages instead of knowing only their mother tongue will have lots of opportunities to be hired at high-paid jobs. For example, in Vietnam, many multinational companies require their employees to know how to speak English before they wanting to sign in. This is the reason why the ability to speak English or other languages that have global functionality is a necessary skill in the modern world.

On the other hand, Losing up the language will make the tradition and culture of it perish away because nobody preserves and use it, and gradually becomes the forgotten language. As a result, It hard to find out the information or relics of these lost languages which include numerous historical values. For instance, many archaeologists are trying to figure out the Maya words which have been existed around 2600 B.C to find the keys to explain this civilization is disappeared.

In conclusion, the increasing use of a few languages and the decline of others is both a positive as well as a negative development. However, I believe that we also need to seek out and protect these dying languages as much as possible.