Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer-based subjects instead.

Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your

knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

The invention of computers, coupled with the emergence of the Internet, science subjects at school and university have been superseded by computer-based subjects over the past few decades. Even though this development is deleterious to a certain extent, I believe that it could be considered beneficial for a number of reasons.

The prevalence of choosing disciplines associated with computers can be a wondrous alternative for scholars in their acquisition of knowledge and degrees. First and foremost, the driving force behind this trend is the convenience and multifunction of computers, which assist students to complete a wide range of tasks and make young pupils more likely to be creative. The great flexibility offered through this type of subjects means that students can access the lessons and manage their own pace of learning, which is a possible measure for them to keep track of their routine and make plans to accomplish their academic diploma. Furthermore, in the competitive market today, computer literacy is an indispensable element for most graduates to compete for job opportunities, career progression, higher salaries, and therefore an improved quality of life.

For a variety of reasons, computer-based subjects would gradually take over the scientific subjects. The first reason why fewer students choose science as their major is that science subjects are sophisticated, which requires students to put much effort in their study. Indeed, these subjects namely Math, Biology, or Chemistry consist of a wide array of specialized knowledge and have fewer practical applications later in life. Secondly, from the employment point of view, science-related occupations are probably limited, perhaps science subjects seem to be less attractive for students compared to computer-based subjects.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the increase in subjects linking to using computers will have beneficial effects on students, and this development will be perpetuated. As a result, I think the government should invest in cutting-edge technology in educational institutions to guarantee the holistic development of students.