Task 2: Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development ? What are the reasons for that ? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your knowledge or experience?

Computer’s existence has led to dramatic changes for every field in our lives including education. It is an obvious sign that nowadays, students have tendency to focus on computer based subjects more than science at school and university. This issue has opened a debate that it is positive or negative. In my opinion, the advantages of these computer based subjects outweigh their disadvantages.

First of all, it is undeniable that science subjects at school bring us a range of information about the world outside. However, students seem to benefit more things from computer based subjects than the science ones. All the information is available on the Internet so that it is not essential to spend time on learning by heart. Instead, students are required to rearrange and make use of the knowledge in the real life. As a result, the assistance of the computers is extremely indispensable because of its programs and logic.

Furthermore,living in the computer age, many companies and factories are operated by computer systems so the employers will not request high marks of science tests like physics or biology but the ability to tackle the problems on the computers from the candidates. For this reason, learning the subjects relating to the computer gives students more chances for a good career. For instance, The students graduating from an IT university will receive a higher salary than the others.Hence, even the pupils have not graduated yet, they are still able to earn the money by fixing or programming the computer and have opportunities to be an internship in some famous companies like Google or Facebook with a high pay while the students from other fields have to be the trainees without payment.

To conclude, with the advancement in technology, the computer based subjects play an important role not only in the school but also in the real life. Studying these subjects hold promise to bring the students more benefits than the science ones.