Film stars and celebrities often share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is reported that famous people tend to give their opinions on some events that are not related to their occupations. Although they have the right to express their opinions freely as a citizen, it is my deep conviction that this would have some negative impacts on the society.

A factor that prevents celebrities from the freedom to express their opinions is their popularity, which allows them to affect the public's views. If a film star or a singer gives his comments on a topic which provokes controversial arguments, his fans and supporters are influenced more or less by his point of view. Hence, these people's opinions are not neutral anymore and this cannot ensure the fairness of the debate. Therefore, famous figures should not share their views publicly to avoid biased views.

Additionally, there are some matters or issues that are not appropriate to give comments on freely, mostly related to politics. If the celebrities share their views on these topics, intentionally or not, this may set an obstacle to their career path. For instance, at Miss Universe 2020, Myanmar representative held a banner with "Pray for Myanmar" on it, then she was accused of rioting and got into trouble in her country. It is obvious that some people, including the celebrities, are not aware of the sensitive topics of their own country, so famous figures, whose activities are tracked and reported on a frequent basis, should consider their behaviours so as not to get into trouble. Therefore, it is not a good idea to encourage celebrities to raise their voices about the topics that have little relevance to their occupations.

In conclusion, I cannot deny the rights to free speech of the celebrities, but I do not encourage them to mention the issues that have little to do with them on large platforms. They should consider thoroughly before sharing there views because their opinions affects not only the public but also themselves.