Atomic energy is becoming more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on Earth to danger. What is your opinion?

Despite the increasing popularity of atomic energy, there is an agreement among several individuals on its prohibition due to threat it poses on the Earth. Although this sort of energy can be detrimental to human lives to a certain extent, the advantages are of greater significance.

One the one hand, opponents of nuclear energy emphasize the adverse nuclear explosions. Acknowledging the fatal impact of nuclear weapons, some individuals indulged in dubious activities related to producing atomic bombs during wartime. A prime example of this is the two atomic bombs the United States detonated over the Japanese cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, which killed millions of people. From this perspective, these disasters are likely to reoccur if humans continue to harness atomic energy.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned disadvantage, nuclear energy has a positive impact on environmental preservation, which justifies the promotion of vehicles powered by nuclear energy. Contrary to what many believe, cooling towers in nuclear plants only emit water vapor, and are thus, not releasing any pollutant or radioactive substance into the atmosphere. Many nuclear energy proponents also argue that nuclear power is a catalyst for the fastest decarbonization effort in history with big nuclear players like France, Canada and South Korea being among the countries that recorded the fastest decline in carbon intensity and experienced a clean energy transition by building nuclear reactors and hydro electric dams. Another point worth considering is that it is much safer than fossil fuels from a public health aspect. Burning oil and coal can escalate climate change and release pollutants that lead to multiple health issues, including cancer, heart disease and premature death. Conversely, in nearly 70 years since the beginning of nuclear power, only three accidents have raised public concerns with one directly causing deaths.

In conclusion, nuclear power can be a highly destructive weapon, but the risk of a nuclear catastrophe are relatively low. It is advisable for the authorities to provide funding for nuclear reactors to produce electricity without any gas emission.