The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as

many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws

introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The emerging growth of motor vehicles around the globe has forced people to promote alternative means of transportation as well as to introduce international policies. I completely agree with this statement because this may be a major step to control growing road issues and to promote productive means of transportation.

First of all, car ownership is increasing rapidly, which has caused a lot of traffic problems and road accidents. In other words, people are constantly depending upon motor vehicles for most of their activities, thus creating vehicle congestion within a city. When laws are introduced to maintain ownership of cars within each family of a society, this will halt people from owning private vehicles. As a result, traffic congestion can be solved to a better extent. For example, if a rule stating one car per family is introduced, the increasing figure of vehicle can be controlled.

Secondly, encouraging alternative means of transportation will result in reduction of cars and increase the usage of effective commuting methods. That is to mean, people will look out for other available methods like trains and cable-buses. Consequently, this will help people to forget about owning a car since trains are productive in terms of saving money and time. For instance, 80% of the population in Japan use trains, which has helped their government to manage traffic on public roads.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a government should promote other means of transportation as they aids to prevent people from buying motor vehicles which are really not productive if compared with above alternatives.