In today’s job market, it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered that practical skills are becoming more valuable for employment than theoretical knowledge. I partially agree with the statement and think that both practical experience and formal qualification are equally important in the job market.

In my view, practical skills are important for operating a business successfully in the market. Since, improvements in performance can only be achieved through work experience, business organizations are often in the need of practically experienced employees. So, in the job market, a practically skilled candidate is given more opportunities rather than a qualified candidate. For example. When hiring a designer, manager look for those who have sufficient working experience in the related field. Hence, qualifications of people are often neglected when it comes to employment.

However, practical skills can only be achieved using theoretical knowledge. In other words, a person who is deprived of education and holds no any formal qualifications, it is impossible for him/her to work or gain skills in the related field. Thus, every person first needs to be educated or earn degrees and can only begin working on the basis of the knowledge learned. Teachers are prime example who are formally required to possess educational qualifications to start teaching even if they have previous working experience. So, the role of theoretical knowledge in the job market is still significant.

In conclusion, although I agree that practical skills play a valuable role for job applicants, I would also argue that practically skilled manpower wouldn’t exist without the achievement of theoretical knowledge.