Some people believe that the construction of new public buildings such as museums, town halls and sports facilities is more important than renovation of the existing ones, while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold differing views about whether it is of greater importance to reconstruct or refurbish the public sites. While some individuals argue that renovating such buildings has more advantages than constructing new ones, I firmly believe that it is more advisable to build brand-new public facilities.

On the first hand, part of the population contends that refurbishing the public constructions instead of rebuilding them is more appealing for various reasons, chief of which is due to the lack of vacant land in metropolitan regions. As a matter of fact, if the local authority gives permission to a project of building a stadium, they might take into account of displacing the community in order that there are sufficient vacant plots of land for construction work. However, this displacement can make thousands of people move out their original place of residence. Additionally, they have no choices but to relocate in an overcrowded area simply because of the shrinking sources of land. Consequently, this trend would worsen the overpopulation issue in urban area, which is the top of agenda in most cities. In contrast, if the state decides to renew the existing urban structures such as repainting the outside or installing new equipment, the urban planners would not have to displace city dwellers for a plot of land.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the local authority had better build new building from the scratch, there are several justifications for this argument and the most convincing is that the public buildings should be laid on safety grounds. In fact, any building experience a deterioration in quality, the public constructions may fall into disrepair with the passage of time, so they can be collapsed suddenly. In case this situation is perpetuated without timely approach from the state, the lives of not only visitors but also passers-by would be put at risk of accidents. Meanwhile, the new-built building designs should meet strict safety standard before being approved by the urban planners. Hence, the prevention of unexpected incidents with those visiting the public sites or living around them can be guaranteed.

To sum up, it is undeniable that there are two schools of thought about the building methods of the public construction. Although refurbishment of public properties might be more convenient as city dwellers are not forced to leave their original places, the projects of building public sites, especially ones witnessing quality deterioration, should be given higher priority for safety reasons.