A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, a pivotal marker of one's wealth is the social status and the types of belongings, and the kindness, hospitality or the trust are not attached as great significance as in the past. From my perspective, it is understandable that people tend to assess the facilities and the possession to judge a household, I firmly believe that the aforementioned old-fashioned values are still regarded as of great importance to everybody's criteria.

On the one hand, there are various justifications behind the judgement according to position in the community and the material ownership. One of the most compelling reason is the fast-paced development of urban regions, especially in the big metropolis. As a matter of fact, a majority of city dwellers might afford to purchase a motorbike, an automobile or even a house. If a household do not have that kind of amenities, they can be considered the people living in poverty simply because they are expected not to have enough money for the possessions that are becoming more common nowadays. Another rationale is the social status of a citizen. In fact, a person who is a politician or the office manager might be supposed to be more valuable for the community. This is due to the fact that those kind of person can contribute considerably to the improvement of the nation such as suggesting some feasible solution for the top agenda of the government. As a result, they would be admired more than those who are homeless or have to live in lower living standard.

On the other hand, I believe that the old values people used to judge an individual's worth like honor, kindness and trust are still remained valuable in the modern day. That is because people are able to express their kindness through the social activities such as taking part in a volunteer club or giving away free clothing and food to the families in remote area. By participating in those community work, they might be considered as the heroes and would be invited to help a hand in similar activities because of their high social value. By way of illustration, some Vietnamese singers like Den Vau often travel to the mountainous areas in the North of Vietnam to support the people living there by doing some charity works to increase their living standard and to gain some inspiration for the creations of brand-new attractive music videos for everyone. Consequently, he has gained widespread popularity among the citizens in all three large regions in Vietnam as well as his international fans around the globe.

In conclusion, despite the criteria to assess one's worth has change for the passage of time, it is undeniable that the old-fashioned value are still playing an indispensable role in people status judgement.