Food travels in thousands of miles from farm to the consumers. Many people think eating food from local people would be benificial to the environment and the economy. Do the advantages of eating local food outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, thanks to the globalization, people in any countries are increasingly consuming foods from not only domestic sources but also other territories. Some people suggest the idea that we should only use local foods to avoid any negative effects both environmentally and economically, but I believe that the distant food exchange is harmful to our environment only.

From economic perspective, benefits that trading food bring to our society are undeniable. It helps many developing countries, which rely heavily on agricultural sector as the main contributor to their GDP, to develop the economy via exporting their food products to the industrialized world. This also means that a huge number of jobs regard to producing, packaging and distributing food would be created, helping employ local residents who might not be able to find any other jobs. For example, millions of farmers in South Vietnam have had a descent life thanks to the constant rice-exporting activities for over the last two decades, compared to previous generations with unstable life when rice productions were interrupted frequently because of the uncertain domestic market.

However, food-trading activities cause many detrimental issues to our environment. Firstly, transporting food between nations requires a huge amount of energy, resulting in encouraging exploitation of fossil fuels like oil and coal. Also, the increasing level of emission from the vehicles used to transport food is another concern, which would contribute to the increase of concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. Finally, the growth of agricultural activities would encourage people to occupy more natural lands for economic benefits, leading to soil degradation and the decrease of area of land for forest protection and natural conservation.

In conclusion, although I agree that trading food is not environmentally friendly, I would argue that it is completely beneficial in economic terms.