Formal examination are the only way to assess a student's performance.

Continual assessment such as course work and project is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Student's performance can be determined by formal education not by course work and projects .A student's performance is calculated under various categories and formal examination is a part of it. So, I completely disagree that formal examinations are the only way to assess a student's performance . Every person in this planet is better than others in a particular field. There is no guarantee that the exam topper students will be successful in the future.

In this world, every person is different from the other one . To assess a student's performance only formal examination will not be fruitful as students might have interest and abilities in many other course related works and projects rather than examination. Examinations are not only way to determine their knowledge as it is a part of their luck as well. It doesn't mean that unlucky people will never pass the exam but means that a little luck with knowledge is must to pass an examination. So, to find out student's performance, first his interests and abilities should be found out and he should give focus on those things rather than formal examination.

A student with good grades in examination has no guarantee of getting successful in the future. We can see the examples of successful persons like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates who are billionaires now and were the 10th standard fail in their school days. It makes clear that a person's future cannot be predicted on the basis of their formal examinations.

To sum up, a person's performance cannot be recognized by his formal examination. There are a lot of other factors to determine student's performance. All it depends upon the student's ability and hard work because a person can be successful in his life by his hard work and dedication not by formal examination.