Formal examination are the only way to assess a student's performance.

Continual assessment such as course work and project is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Student's performance is evaluated by the formal examinations which is the only effective way. The continuous work such as projects and course work is not a good way to evaluate the performance. I completely disagree with this statement that formal examination is the only way to determine the student performance. Formal examination are not only the way. As students may not be able to write in the examination, whatever they had understood just because they are afraid and hopeless. Next reason might be that, some students might not be able explain it orally and practically rather than giving formal examinations. So, projects work will be better for them.

At first, students now a days, focus more on practical work than in theoretical portion. When examination had to be given, they need to follow rules and regulations; which decreases their confidence level. Though they know the answer, they will not be able to write in formal examination. So, the student's performance can be evaluated through their daily work from course work and outer knowledge. For e.g. when student become sick during examination, he may not be able to write whatever he had knowledge about. Hence, it should be evaluated on daily basis not only in formal examination.

Similarly, students in this century, are liable to internets. They learn many things from there which can be presented only through the project works. Formal examinations increases fear in some students who have exam phobia. They learn various ways of presenting their work which is possible only by project work. For e.g. if project works are recommended for such students, they will be encouraged in studying, it imparts the positivity in students as well as teachers.

In conclusion, it can be clearly said that students will have more confident and focus if project work is given. And, the students should be evaluated in their daily basis. Hence, project works and course work should be encouraged rather than formal examinations.