Fossil fuels (coal, oil and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Despite some countries still using fossil fuels as the main source of energy, the use of alternative sources has been receiving a great deal of public attention. In my opinion, this could be seen as positive progress because of their environmentally friendly and practically infinite resource.

The biggest advantage of using alternate sources is that they can reduce air pollution. Rising consumption of fossil fuels is set to drive up greenhouse gas emissions and global temperatures, resulting in potentially catastrophic and irreversible climate change. All of the forms relate to resources based on energy such as solar, wind, hydro, are mostly green, clean, and renewable and therefore could provide an answer to the reduction of carbon dioxide.

The other advantage is that the use of renewable energy will boundless supply of energy for future generations. For example, wind and solar power are both everlasting sources of power while conventional sources like coal and oil take millions of years to form but they have been consumed at an alarming rate. Furthermore, although the initial cost of setting up solar panels and wind farms is expensive as these are dependent on the geographic locations. However, once the initial cost has been met with, their maintenance is practically negligible.

In conclusion, alternative sources are a safe solution to the fear of energy security and ensure a better environment in human life.