The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, transportation of goods across countries is increasing as a result of globalisation. While some people believe this is essential for the growth of economy, others feel it hampers the businesses of local industries. Although it is important that local industries should be allowed to flourish, overall growth of the economy is key for development of the nation and also its people.

Local industries tend to be suffer when large multinational companies venture in similar fields. One of the reasons is that these giant companies have more revenue which can be invested for worldwide transportation as compared to the small native industries. For example, simple industries like clothing and textile are affected because of international brands like Levis or Puma because of there widespread marketing. This shows how small companies lose because of loss of global marketing.

However, international companies are known to provide increased job opportunities for the local community. As the company flourishes there is increased income for the people and gross economy for the nation. An example of this is cities like hongkong which have large scale companies and provide jobs to millions of people. Also, many people are involved in the transportation of these goods and this further adds to the employment opportunities. This proves that international companies are essential for the national economy.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that , despite the drawback of damaging the local industries , global mobilization of goods has far more advantages for the people and also the financial development of the country.