Full-time university students need to spend a lot of time on study, but it is essential to get involved in other activities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traditionally, the priority of full-time students was to devote themselves to study. However, in the age of higher requirement for students, they are supposed to take part in other activities. Therefore, university students should be encouraged to be involved in various activities like voluntary work and internship.

Getting involved in other activities rather than totally focusing on study helps university students develop skills teachers never teach, which can bring them a brighter future. For example, when students participate in voluntary work or become an intern in some company, not only can they solve problems independently but also can have better interpersonal skills, which are both crucial abilities for them after entering society. The earlier they are equipped with these helpful skills during the period of university, the more possibilities they own to achieve success when they graduate.

Students who not only study hard but also take an active part in different activities except study may have a deeper comprehension on knowledge related to their own majors, which is beneficial for their academic development. Centuries ago, students who spent most of their time on study may only master theoretical knowledge in their textbooks but had no idea how to use theories in reality. Today, those who participate in other activities, such as doing internship or doing part-time jobs, are able to apply theories into practice and using theories to solve problems independently. Therefore, with the experience in real life, students can lay a solid foundation of their professional knowledge that help them achieve more academic improvement in further study.

All in all, encouraging students to get involved in other activities improves students’ soft skills like interpersonal skills and independence as well as their theoretical developments.