Full-time university students should take a lot of time to study, but it is essential to be involved in other activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a statement that higher education requires an enormous proportion of time; however, other people also think that it’s better to participate in extra-curriculum activities during university life. From my personal point of view, university students should be more active and take part in many other activities instead of spending a majority of time on study.

Spending the majority of the time studying produces detrimental effects on students in terms of physics and spirit. Firstly, as students stick to for a long time, they do not have any spare time to exercise, which makes their bones and muscles become weak and the immune system is more vulnerable. This possibly causes many health problems such as cardiovascular disease, obesity, hemorrhoids, etc. For example, although Shanghai is famous for its industrious and hard-working university students, it also notorious for a high rate of obesity. Secondly, thinking about assignments, articles, lectures,... all day is likely to put a huge pressure on college students, which possibly hinders their social development and leads to stress. This further results in many physical and spiritual problems including headache, muscle pain, fatigue or drug abuse, high rate of suicide and autism.

On the other hand, instead of spending time with books, the involvement in other hobbies and activities is highly recommended. The reason for this statement is that what we learn from professors in university is not sufficient for a future career as it requires more real-life experiences and soft skills such as time management, teamwork, problem-solving which books cannot give. These skills are solely learned from outdoor activities such as participation in clubs and organizations, which not only are well-rounded college experiences but also are a base for stepping into a career ladder. Another reason is that doing competitive activities like sports brings substantial benefits because they both relieve stress after hard-working days and boost your self-esteem through achieving your goals in matches. Furthermore, many reliable shreds of evidence reveal that many athletes do better in academic compared to those who do not play sports as playing sports requires memorization, energy, repetition and learning, which is directly equivalent to skillset in class.