In the future all cars buses and trucks will be driverless The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages

Automation of modern transportation is an obvious trend and passengers will soon experience no-driver vehicles. However, I suppose this phenomenon may result in more drawbacks than merits.

On the one hand, bringing the automatic cars into use on a large scale is an effective strategy of development, hence, consolidating the modernization status of a country. This will promote more scientific research on the state-of-the-art transportation technology and benefit the nation in the long run. Besides, using those kinds of vehicles is a proper method to adapt to the fast lifestyle developing in the current time, especially in metropolitan areas. One example is that the popularity of driverless subways in reputable cities in Japan has met the great demand of transprovincial traveling, as well as reduced the stress on traditional drivers.

On the other hand, given that there is no human supervision, automatic vehicles pose a large quantity of threats rather than safety. Precisely, driverless vehicles are merely the invention of human beings, and the possibility of having unexpected technological bugs can not be completely eliminated. Therefore, incidents may suddenly occur while in operation, leading to several devastating consequences. Consecutive deadly traffic accidents caused by Tesla automatic cars in the USA are the most prominent examples. Moreover, the absence of drivers could be a contributor to the service failure in the area of public transportation or taxi market because in hospitality, robots or AI devices can not complĂȘtly substitute the emotional function of servants.

In conclusion, I suppose that the bad points of non-driver vehicles overshadow the benefits and the use of such modern tools should be limited to an acceptable threshold.