In the future, cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the continuously cutting-edge technological evolvement, means of transportation like cars, trucks, and buses are anticipated to be driverless in the near future. While there might be many doubts and controversial opinions about self-driving vehicles, I do believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

It is admitted that the more automatic vehicles are, the more drivers are going to be unemployed. In fact, if numerous self-driving vehicles are being manufactured and brought into the market, job opportunities for drivers will tend to be disappeared. This may lead to the higher unemployment rate of labors and drive to a significant crisis in driving industry. Besides, the majority of people are still unaware and unwilling to absorb the new technology as they suppose it is complex to understand. Because automatic mobility models are applied artificial intelligence and internet of things technologies, people tend to not believe or trust in what they have not yet had experience before.

However, it should be mentioned that the number of serious accidents on road has been increasing due to careless, irresponsible, and drunk drivers. If self-driving vehicles are sooner wide spreading, it will incredibly lower the accident rate and its serious level owing to human errors. Meanwhile, it will also enhance the efficiency since automatic transports are ensured to always sustain suitable velocity to reach users’ desired location in expected time. Moreover, utilizing driverless vehicles can help us to feel more comfortable and have free time to enjoy other activities like listening to music or chitchatting with family members and friends. Apart from this, the most vital advantage of this change is giving elderly and disabled people a chance to be able to travel by themselves and have greater experience without worrying about handling of driving.

In conclusion, there are certain disadvantages of self-driving transports, but these can be tackled by adopting appropriate measures. Nevertheless, this alteration is bringing much more benefits in the long term.