It is more important for students to study local history instead of global history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is of popular opinion that the emphasis of the historical curriculum should be allocated to the study of the regional past rather than to the global records on account of their conviction in the advantages of focusing on the provincial past. In my honest opinion, while the importance of understanding one' ancestry is undeniable, I have heavy opposition to the argument above due to my belief in the equal cruciality of both lines of history in the development of students for reasons which will be further elaborated in the following paragraphs.

There exist various justifications for the mentioned claim. First and foremost, in today's world, due to the effect of globalization, people are continuously under the influence of external cultures. As such, it is of utmost importance for citizens to have a solid cultural foundation in order to establish their national identities and form their view of the globe. Learning about the history of their people, especially at an early age, will play a vital role in the formation of such foundations for learners since it will instil a sense of pride and patriotism in their lineages. For instance, the resounding victories of the Vietnamese ancestors in their defences of the homeland against foreign invaders are often the source of pride for countless individuals. Additionally, it will teach them of the gruesome price and efforts their current peaceful and happy life has cost for the previous generations, for them to realize their gratification for the lives they have nowadays, which in turn reinforce their cultural roots as they come to understand their traditional values and identities. These will strengthen the cultural background and ethnic identity of students, abling them to keep to their origins under increasing foreign impacts as their nations join in the flow of global development.

However, the notion that all education efforts should be placed on local history is a notion I cannot give my agreement to. While a firm cultural identity is of great need, the ability to hold a well-round and objective perspective of life would prove to be of even higher value for schoolchildren, as future situations in life will place substantial demands on this ability. For instance, when facing an argument, it is essential that people can learn to overcome their biases and subjective viewpoints and to look at the big picture with a view to making the right decision. In order to achieve this capability, it is paramount for pupils to practice a wide and unembellished standpoint during their school years. Therefore, researching global records will be needed for them as studies into international events will allow them to have better knowledge of the causes and reasons and the connections between their history with the bigger picture, refining their capacities for a broader view and enabling them to use their voice to stand with and fight for the righteous. Moreover, having a better understanding of the global past will be a tremendous assistance in the accumulation of knowledge, even of local history, as students will gain insights into various branches of history and events that can prove invaluable in their studies.

In conclusion, on account of the reasons above, while it is necessary for students to study local history, the same could also be said for global history because of the value it brought to the refining of perspective and the link it has to the regional past. Hence, the studies of both of these lines of records should be continued with each other so as to provide pupils with the best education possible.