In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that printed newspapers and books will no longer be purchased in the course of time due to the replacement by free ones online. I completely disagree with this sentiment since some reasons are explained in this essay.

To begin with, I personally disapprove of the statement mentioned in the beginning because online publications are not suitable for all generations. To be specific, old people often find it difficult to read magazines or news on the internet due to their eye conditions. For instance, my grandparents can not enjoy their reading time completely if they use a phone or a computer as the words are small and the light from the screen strain their eyes. Besides, a large number of people getting used to the printed books and reading materials find it even harder to familiarise with online ones. As a result, no matter how developed and affordable the technology is towards the existence of reading materials, some people will keep buying printed products.

However, some people still claim that these books and magazines will be replaced in the future. They may think that the chance of reading a large amount of information without paying for fees will reduce the number of people selecting printed ones. But, I strongly believe there are still people having preference for the latter. In other words, everyone has their own way to choose the most convenient way to read depending on their different financial status and situations. Take an IT employee as an example, after a week working with computers, he would prefer reading a printed newspaper in his leisure time to looking at a screen again. It seems that both offline and online methods do not have the ability to substitute the other one.

To sum up, although some people believe printed publications will not be essential at a later time as an increase in the free reading online, I am of the opposite view since the latter is not the choice of all generations as well as the preference of people for the former.