Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Genetic modification, along with other biological technologies, is pioneering the world’s healthcare industry. And although people hold mixed opinions about this medical field, I believe that human interference with genes will change our world in an optimistic way, particularly in ending problems that have lasted for centuries like HIV or genetic disorders.

Some groups of people, especially those concerned about human rights, fear that genetic engineering would be exploited for evil purposes such as human replication, artificial human reproduction and even human selection. If these things happen someday, they believe, terrible scenarios like the third world war may come when tyrants like Adolf Hitler are revived. Moreover, human modification of genes could also reduce biodiversity among human beings as babies are shaped and chosen before they are born. Therefore, some unique but so-called “inferior” physical characteristics like a big nose, and a black complexion, a short height, to name but a few, would be removed from future generations.

However, it is undeniable that many prolonged medical issues like HIV, AIDS, genetic disorders and many other gene-related diseases would end if genetic modification is carried out properly and morally. HIV and AIDS have long been a worldwide problem, which plays a noticeable role in the poverty of many African countries. For that reason, if scientists apply genetic engineering to help HIV/AIDS mothers give birth to healthy babies, the number of HIV/AIDS patients would be minimized significantly, thus relieving the financial and medical burden of developing nations. Additionally, many genetic disorders and gene-related diseases like diabetes and heart disease would no longer be a concern to medical workers.

Finally, although there are potential risks, I think that genetic engineering, if conducted suitably and legally, will have the ability to improve the worldwide healthcare system, which later leads to a shift in the economy.