Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, with the thriving growth of modern technology in society, there is no denying that genetic modification plays a crucial role in human lives, but it is also a controversial topic that often divides opinions. While many people assume that this field of technology has the potential to enhance people’s living quality in some ways, others oppose that it exists dangers behind it. From my point of view, I strongly oppose that the benefits of genetic engineering will outweigh the drawbacks, the following essay will take a look at both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, there are a number of obvious advantages brought by genetic engineering which cover mainly two aspects of food production and medical advances. In terms of the food production industry, it is clear that genetic technology significantly contributes to increased productivity for agriculture. In addition, it partly deals with famine and mitigates poverty in developing countries thanks to abundant food supplies. Another thing worth noting is a medical perspective which has brought breathtaking achievement in eliminating dangerous diseases and even having beneficial beauty. As an example to illustrate it is that only when were vaccines for COVID-19 invented by scientists, the rate of human mortality had signs of decline across the world about a few years ago. Another convict example is that human longevity is more expanded, and more resilient to the natural aging process by abusing supplementation of hormones and filler.

However, genetic engineering can backfire and create unintended outcomes for fauna and flora. Regarding the loss of ecosystem balance realm, the rise of genetically modified organisms can cause a reduction in biodiversity because genetic technology somewhat disrupts the natural way and complexity of life. To illustrate, producing a variety of corn will release toxic agents that become resistant to diseases and natural predators like insects, even killing them. As a result, this intervention accompanies with the disappearance of some birds that feed on those insects. Another disadvantage is that it is regarded as an ethical concern and the probability of abuse is very high in the cloning of humans. For example, in the case of DOLLY sheep, more than 277 attempts were produced before a viable clone was produced. This only suggests that if humans were to be cloned, scientists would need to conduct numerous “failed” attempts.

In conclusion, I am convinced that genetic engineering will have positive impacts on our lives, but once is it misused purposes, it will lead to unprecedented consequences.