Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the prevalence of digital devices can spell trouble for the reading and writing skills among teenagers. Personally, I completely agree with that view as some certain negatives.

Firstly, the traditional reading skill is gradually declining. In the digital technology age, there are a number of entertainments on the Internet so reading can be ignored such as books and magazines. The reason is that they are convenient and time-saving in a bustle and hustle life. Besides, young people are easily bored with academic documents which have many sophisticated words like magazines. As a report, Vietnamese people only read 4 books per year including textbooks and other books. Therefore, most people have ack of knowledge and understanding about specialized words.

Writing abilities are also affected because of the over-dependence on the Internet. In other words, students can use the technologies assistance to write like ChatGPT or copy the information in the sample essay. Hence, they will have difficulties in writing without digital devices. Moreover, the youth often chat or send messages by short-words, emojis and informal words. As a result, they can have a tendency to use that style of communication in real writing.

In concussion, I agree that using computers and mobile phones to communicate can have detrimental impact on teenagers as the declining of traditional reading skill, the over-using and the bad habit in writing abilities.