Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, with the thriving growth of modern technology, there is no denying that genetic modification plays a crucial role in human lives, but it is also a controversial topic that often divides opinions. While many people believe that this area of technology has the potential to improve people's quality of life in some areas, others dispute and claim that it poses risks. In my opinion, I firmly believe that the advantages of genetic engineering will exceed the disadvantages; the following article will examine both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, there are a number of apparent benefits that genetic engineering has brought concerning, primarily in the areas of food production and medical advancements. It is obvious that genetic technology considerably boosts yields from agriculture in terms of the food-producing manufacturing industry. Additionally, it partially addresses famine and lessens poverty in developing countries as a result of the abundant food supply. Another aspect to consider is the medical perspective, which has shown astounding success in curing severe disorders and even having cosmetic effects. As an illustration, consider the fact that until the development of COVID-19 vaccinations by scientists a few years ago, the rate of human mortality showed signs of decreasing all over the world. By employing hormone and filler supplements, human longevity is increased and made more resistant to the effects of natural ageing.

Genetic engineering, however, has the potential to backfire and have unanticipated effects on flora and fauna. Because genetic technology partially disturbs the natural laws of life, the growth of genetically modified species may result in a loss of biodiversity in the area of ecosystem balance. As an example, growing certain varieties of maize will release poisonous chemicals that develop disease resistance, and consuming these plants will infect natural predators like insects. Therefore, this action coincides with the extinction of several birds that eat such insects. Another drawback of human cloning is that it is seen as unethical and that misuse is highly likely to occur. For instance, more than 277 attempts were made with the DOLLY sheep. For example, in case of DOLLY sheep, more than 277 attempts were produced before viable clone was produced. This only suggests that if human were to be cloned, scientists would need to conduct numerous “failed” attempts.

In conclusion, I am convinced that genetic engineering will have positive impacts on our lives, but once is it misused purposes, it will lead to unprecedented consequences.