Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today.

What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Last few days, the issue of global warming is becoming more discussed. It is obvious because this problem can cause terrible consequences such as sea level rise and subsequent flooding of large areas. There are 2 opposite points of view. Some believe government must solve this problem while others think everyone can influence it and so individuals must do everything to prevent troubles. Who is right?

People, who believe that individuals should contribute to preservation of nature, see several ways to reduce CO2 emissions, which are one of the factors causing world temperature increase. First of all, people should use personal vehicles less, because they emit exhaust fumes and carbon dioxide. Instead of it, they can switch to public transport like buses, trains, trams and so on. Also bicycle is a good alternative to cars, it not only does not pollute air but also improves driver's health. Also, everyone can start use green technologies such as renewable energy. There are a lot of different kinds of alternative energy sources. For example, wind turbine, solar panels and biofuel are some of them.

But there is another opinion. Some consider that only government can affect this ecology problem greatly, According to statistics, transport emits much less emissions than industry and electricity production. As rule, large enterprises are engaged in production and ordinary people are not to able to change politics of it. Only authorities can influence it. For instance, they can reduce emissions thanks to carbon dioxide tax which obliges industrial companies to pay for CO2 emissions. As well, alternative energy is not common and very expensive, but government can change it by investing in new technologies development.

In my personal opinion, government has a greater opportunity to reduce carbon dioxide emissions than individuals. But it does not mean that ordinary people can do nothing to solve this problem. Just the opposite, they also should do everything to save our world. Thereby, it can be said that only together we can solve all problems.