Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

For the past few decades, we have observed a major shift in climatic conditions of planet Earth. Drift in environmental system is largely due to global warming which has become an acute problem. This essay will analyze the root causes of global warming and will suggest remedies to lower the risk associated with this alarming problem.

There are many causes behind global warming, but it is mostly due to greenhouse effect. Greenhouse effect is a phenomenon where gases such as carbon-dioxide trap heat from the sun which causes the global temperature to rise above optimal level. Activities of human beings contribute equally in increase of global warming. Factories and vehicles results in emission of carbon gases and fumes which are depleting the ozone layer surrounding the earth. Utilization of fossil fuels and other hazardous chemicals are other reasons of global warming. Moreover, countries are becoming more industrialized and are dumping waste in the atmosphere without realizing its harmful effects and severity of the issue. Rising temperatures due to global warming would result in melting of polar ice-caps which will trigger severe floods, droughts and other extreme weather conditions.

This critical issue which could potentially eliminate the human race should be death on government and individual level. Governments should enforce strict policies and regulations to control the emission of carbon gases from industries. More focus should be made on using alternative petroleum products that are environmental friendly. Industries that are certified green should be charged lower tax rate. Awareness programs should be organized to educate masses. Apart from government, individual members of the society should step forward and play their role. People should select green vehicles for their transportation requirement; they should dump the waste properly, prefer to work in green certified industries and educate others.

To conclude, global warming poses serious threat to mankind, wildlife and ecosystem of the planet. Governments and civilians both share equal responsibility to overcome this issue and make planet earth safer for mankind and other inhabitants.