Globalization is positive for economies but its negative sides should not be ignored.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that globalization benefits the business world, however, its subtle downsides should not be neglected. I completely concur with this notion for the possibility of losing cultural identity, leading to the assimilation that many civilizations may face.

For one thing, global cooperation facilitates economic prosperity is an indisputable fact. Private sectors are allowed to collaborate and international trades are generally prompted by modern industrial society, which will generate more opportunities to increase sales volume. More contracts are approved and projects to expand the market of companies are now able to be implemented. Furthermore, given the open policies of governments in many countries that incentivize offshore businesses to exchange information and profession, enterprises are indeed the beneficiaries as they are allowed to coordinate the advantages of both sides and in turn, bolster the social economic growth.

For another, notwithstanding the aforementioned economic merits, globalization is a potential threat to the loss of cultural identity. The result of this trend is that since businesses start to penetrate more regions, it will entail their traditions and rituals to be adopted in such alien environments. Businesses operate based on their labor forces, however, they unconsciously reform the thinking of the employees who are born indiginous people to rigidly comply with the company’s traditions. Working with foreign colleagues will gradually change their behavior to become identical with others as to adapt a novel concept which is generally followed. Profoundly, their region-specific identity will lose when assimilation has negatively affected one’s individuality.

To conclude, globalization positively facilitates economic growth. Nonetheless, the existential threat of losing cultural identity is indeed a dire consequence that individuals must be aware of.