Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors in major sports competitions such as the Olympic Games and football World Cup. Others say it is better to spend money encouraging children to take up sports at a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The trend towards allocating resources for professional athletes in many countries has sparked conflicting opinions. While this is beneficial to national reputation, I completely agree that it should be better spent for the youth generation for some reasons.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to invest heavily in ambitious and prospective sports competitors for participating in international tournaments. Considering the costs of hiring foreign trainers and health care specialists, it requires a sufficient government budget to cover all aspects and areas of sports. This is deemed an intrinsic motivation for sportsmen, given the best conditions to nurture talents and high-quality equipment to practice sporting activities. Those who are well-taken care by the state could be offered more opportunities to hold the championship and bring glory for the nation. Additionally, players who reach the pinnacle of sport could reinforce the reputation of a country by upholding their ranking in the global sports chart.

On the other hand, it is more justified for the governmental bodies to draw the attention on incentivizing sporting pursuit among the youth. Once the provision of sports facilities is executed, it would directly raise public health awareness and enable youngsters to adopt a fitness regime, which is essential to one’s physique development. Furthermore, teaching programmes sponsored by the council in which sports are integrated will enhance students' physical health, establishing an ideal balance between school schedule and outdoor activities, also freeing them from the daily academic pressure. As a result, youngsters’ strengthened physical well-being will contribute to a solid society structure since they play an integral part in national productivity and future social progress.

To conclude, the investment in professional sportsmen is essential. Nonetheless, the youths’ sporting spirit should be held in higher esteem, requiring additional attention in order to ensure their holistic development.