Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Opinion is divided as to whether authorities should have a budget for aesthetics, art, and entertainment field instead of having more investment on public goods and services. In my opinion, government should have an adequate budget for arts and entertainment industry.

Arts, aesthetics, and entertainment field can be seen as a kind of public services that contribute a significant benefit to social welfare. firstly, entertainment industry is an estimated source of revenue for national income. government enforce a higher and more strictly tax on entertainment industry. In these days’ lifestyle, people tend to find more diversions to reduce social pressure, therefore, the more entertaining requirements, the more value government gain.

In addition, citizen have many direct advantages from entertainment, aesthetics, and arts industry. If private sector provide capital for these industries, the cost that people must pay will be higher. Hence, the interference of government results in the lower fee or free fee which lead to more people stand a higher chance to approach to creative and sound source of entertainment. Accordingly, the deadweight loss of society will be impaired.

In conclusion, it is ludicrous to make up a decision that should not invest in art, music, or related services because they are equally important. Government spending is a controversial topic; all decision must be based on the welfare that society will be received.