The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Many argue that allocating more budget to public service is more profitable than funding the creative sectors. I disagree as a creative economy improves population well-being and preserves cultural heritage.

The improvement of citizens’ well-being is the primary reason the government needs to invest more in the creative industry as it helps people regulate their emotions better. While people can flow their emotions, it straightly improves their physical well-being as they would feel relief channeling what they feel through arts. A study suggests that workers in Jakarta who watched traditional concerts twice a year experienced less anxiety than those who had never attended concerts. Moreover, the concert was free from fees as the government of Jakarta provided it. Thus, enjoying free concerts helps workers to maintain their mental health condition.

Funding more creative fields can also be cultural perseverance act coming from the authority, securing cultural heritage from extinction. To put it more simply, more budget can be spent to hold numerous events to increase the cultural awareness of the young generation through youth activities. This can engage them to dive deeper into their culture. As proven by PRJ, an event held to celebrate the birthday of Jakarta, successfully introduced Kerak Telor as one of the Batavia tribe's traditional feasts for generations. Statistically shows that 70% of PRJ visitors from year to year were the youth as they know that many of their favorite singers would perform freely in that event.

To conclude, it is disagreed that funding creative industries would be pointless compared to allocating budget to public sectors since it supports people’s mental health and preserves cultural heritage. If possible, both expenses should be distributed evenly.