The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country's development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is appreciated that the governor should allocate more to teaching science-based subjects compared to others for the sake of national development and progress. From my perspective, I completely agree with this opinion. This essay would pen down valid justifications behind my verdict.

Initially, I opine that spending the public purse on science lessons would exert a positive impact on students’ cognitive development and logical thinking, thus contributing to a better future workforce. This is mainly derived from the fact that science subjects often require learners to do complicated calculations and explain complex processes, which sharpens their minds and boosts the speed of reactions to the surrounding environment. According to recent research by the Ministry of Education and Training in Vietnam, frequent Maths learners generally improvise faster in hazardous situations than those who do not. Should science-based subjects be overlooked, students will not possess both indispensable knowledge and traits to be in the labour force and devote to the national prosperity.

Besides, I hold a strong belief that teaching science subjects should be governmentally funded more as they are the basis of technological development, which is the driving force of many important industries. This is mainly due to the fact that technology is wholly developed from basic science, such as maths and biology. For example, Python, a well-known programming language is based on a host of algorithms. Also, thanks to chemistry and physics, metal detectors were invented. Therefore, pouring governmental funds into teaching science-based subjects would do wonders for industrial development in particular and national development in general. By contrast, if teaching science subjects were not funded, a nation would not witness any technological advancement.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that the country leaders should invest more in teaching science-based subjects to benefit the national development and progress as these subjects would nurture a potential workforce and contribute to developing imperative industries.