The government should spend money in promoting sport and art in school, rather sponsoring professional sports and art events in communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that authorities should invest in sport and art facilities in campus instead of supporting occupational sports or art in society. In my opinion, both in-campus and off-campus sports and art are equally important, which should be emphasized by government unbiasedly.

It is obviously that investing in school facilities can benefits students’ extra-curricular life greatly. One of the most important significance is that it will increase students’ participation and enthusiasm towards sport and art. By doing sport activities, for example, students’ physical conditions and willpower will be cultivated. Similarly, by visiting campus galleries, students could broaden their horizons and consequently improve their aesthetic values. Besides, in this day and age, students are under huge academic pressure, which means that they should have a pathway to release their stress. Undoubtedly, taking part in more sport and artistic activities will be a reasonable choice. In addition, compared with professional sports and public art in communities, which tend to be sponsored by business organizations, campus facilities need more financial supports by the government.

However, investing money in school by no means that the governments should ignore societal sports and arts. In fact, governments could attract more citizens’ attention towards professional sports and art events such as local sports clubs and exhibitions by sponsoring them. This practice will also be an effective method to stimulate local economy and improve citizens’ sense of identity. Furthermore, the governments’ sponsorship in sports and arts can also encourage more people to take part in these leisure activities. Investing in society could benefits more inhabitants in comparison with that in school since students’ number only occupies a small proportion of the whole residents. Therefore, governments’ support is also of vital importance for the development of society.

In conclusion, it is appropriate for governments to invest their financial budget proportionately in both school and society to improve the athletic and artistic amenities.