Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is widely believed that governments should build railways instead of making roads by using the urban's money. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this proposal because there are a great deal of advantages to spending money on roads.

The reason why I disagree is that roads are very suitable for people. There are many means of transportations on the road such as cars and motorbikes, it takes less time for people to travel from one place to another destination. For example, we always use a car to drive to work rather than taking a train to work. My second point is that it would benefit the farmers to deliver food to the market. Because most markets tend to use the organic products which are grown in the fields, farmers will drive a truck of vegetables to the market. If they used the trains on the railways, it might affect the food quality. Therefore, investing in making roads will also help to boost the country's industry.

Advocates of spending money in railways believe that it can be effective in traveling long distances safely. In fact, trains and railways are repaired frequently to prevent accidents during the trip. However, although those are repaired, there may be problems on the trip. To most people, traveling on the road would be more safe and sound due to the fact that the roads are flatten and easy when driving. Moreover, GPS is involved in most vehicles so they will not get lost while traveling. Therefore, putting money into railways is not an ideal way as roads are more common for people and it reduces accidents.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that roads investment is more beneficial than railways because it is suitable for most people and low-risk when going.