Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The issue of transportation facilities has been brought into focus recently. It is common for government to spend money on building railway stations and highways. I partly agree with the idea that there are many advantages to construct railway stations, while we can not ignore the significant impacts in building roads.

There are several reasons why creating railways is important in our life. Firstly, the speed of railway is faster than the road, which means that trains can transport more goods and people at the same time, thereby saving more time and cost. Secondly, building railways can improve people life standard. This is because people can choose different kinds of vehicle to go travel, for example, trains, highways and railways. These transportations make people go travel more convenience and improve human happiness. Lastly, building railway stations can improve the employment rate. Railways need many people to maintain and work, which means that it can provide more job opportunities, such as staff, cashier, driver etc.

However, it is clear that roads are important in our life. Building roads can release the traffic pressure. This is because more roads means people can choose other roads when this road is crowded, which can declind the commuting time. Meanwhile, people have more chances to travel to nearby cities in weekend. People can drive their cars to other cities instead of buying train tickets and waiting for a long time to get to the destination, Moreover, some poor areas have no condition to build railway. In this situation, constructing roads is the most important ways to help them develop and stimulate the economy development. As the old saying goes in China, road can bring money, water can improve economy.

In conclusion, government need to spend money on building railways, while need to consider the impact of creating roads.