Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Given the level of congestion in the city roads, many people think that government should only spend money on railways. I believe that it is impractical to spend all money on railways, however, more money should be spent on railway.

Over the last few decades, most governments in the world have spent a lot of money on the development of the roads rather than railways. This has resulted in increased congestion in the roads due to high traffic jam. It seems like that there is little chance to increase the size and number of the routes of the roads. Besides, the number of people and vehicle is rising significantly which will result in more traffic jam in the future. So, it is sensible for the government to concentrate highly on railway development so that more and more people shift to the railway, resulting in less congestion in the roads. Moreover, people can save more time on rail journey and road accident will also decrease because railway journey is much quicker and safer than bus journey.

However, it is not possible for all people to use railway in every journey. People will still have to use buses for short journey, for example, going to office or school. Besides, it is not always possible to reach railway station on time to catch rail, in that case, they have to rely on road vehicles. So governments will still need to spend a significant amount of money for road development.

In conclusion, government cannot completely ignore city roads. However, as there is high chance to increase the rail network, government should spend more money on railway, and as a result, traffic jam will be reduced considerably.