Many people think that companies or private institutions should take the responsibility of cleaning the waste in the environment, not the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the high volume of garbage produced by the private industries, many people argue that these industries should take the responsibility of cleaning the waste. However, I believe that the full control should be in the hand of the government, with some assistance from the private institutions.

Companies, especially manufacturing industries, produce tons of waste every day around the world. Comparing to the household waste, this waste is massive and pollutes the environment significantly, especially in the third-world countries where environmental awareness is very low. So, many people want the private industries to take the responsibility of cleaning the waste as they are responsible for most of the pollution.

However, there will be some problem if the responsibility is completely shifted to the companies. Firstly, companies might not give high importance to this issue and will not spend enough money on this task as profitability is their main goal. So, we will not get the desired result. Secondly, there will be some kind of disagreement as to the proportion of the cost spent by each company because not all companies produce the equal amount of garbage. These all issues will result in mismanagement.

Government can handle the task effectively and efficiently as they have administrative power and can work strictly and neutrally for the betterment of the whole country. Rather than shifting the full burden to the private companies, high amount of tax and fine should be imposed on the companies which produce a large volume of garbage. In this way, government can cover the cost of cleaning the pollution.

In conclusion, private industries can take responsibility for cleaning the waste in the form of giving the high amount of tax. But the main control should be in the hand of the government for better, effective and neutral management.