Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is the most powerful tool to make people convinced to buy a particular product. However, because of the various options for analysis, the situation has changed, and nowadays, people think multiple times before buying a product.

Advertising and brand have a lot of impact on the mass people in buying goods. There are many people in the world who are still persuaded by the falsified advertising and so-called high-branded products and purchase without thinking of its actual benefits. This is very evident in the smartphone industry, where people are ready to pay a lot to buy the so-called high-branded mobile, though other manufacturers offer the same features with much lower price. Besides, people in the third-world countries are also convinced by the western cosmetics which are sold in the promise of better skin treatment, though consumers can get the same result from local products with lower price. Consequently, people waste a lot of money.

However, the mindset of people is changing. Nowadays, we have different options to buy goods that have a good balance between price and benefits, for example, comparing a product’s price and offerings with others through online. iPhone, the top smartphone brand, has seen a 10% drop in its sales in the last year because people now focus more on features and benefits rather than brand. Besides, in many countries, the income of the general people has not increased sufficiently compared to the day-to-day expenses. This makes them avoid wasting money on unnecessary goods and focus extremely on savings for the future.

In conclusion, most people no longer tend to be convinced by the falsified advertising because they can now understand whether the goods are of use to them and the prices are reasonable.