In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Despite the high increase of crops each year, many people in this world starve. Lack of birth control policy and insufficient collection of tax from rich people contribute to this problem highly.

Sufficient amount of crops and vegetables is produced to feed all the people in the world, though many people cannot afford to buy these for all their family members. In many third-world countries, for example, Africa and Congo, there are many extremely poor people who have no fixed earnings. These people may feed only one or two children, but surprisingly, most of them have 8-10 children at home, resulting in them go hungry. Besides, governments of many third-world countries focus less on collecting high amount of tax from rich. Consequently, businessmen can easily evade high amount of tax. If sufficient amount of tax is collected, this money can be spent on poor people so that they do not starve.

To alleviate this problem, first of all, governments of poor countries should introduce a strong birth control policy where poor people are allowed to take more children if only they can afford. Encouraging them to use contraceptives will be helpful here. Besides, government should focus on increasing their education level as educated people can easily understand the value of family planning. Secondly and most importantly, government should ensure that plentiful amount of tax is collected from elite people. Strong punishment for evading tax should be introduced and tax authorities should be given more power to investigate cases. As a result, high amount of tax will be collected which can be used to develop the lives of the needy people.

In conclusion, the problem of hunger seems fierce. But by introducing an effective family planning and strengthening the tax collection from affluent people, this problem can be reduced significantly.