Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions.

To what extent do you agree or not?

Because of the high opportunities for reading books online on computer at a low cost, many people think that establishing public libraries is a waste of money. Although we can read books online with minimum effort, I believe that government should establish libraries and encourage the people to use it.

It is true that internet is giving us a great access to thousands of books at a minimum cost and effort while establishing libraries is costly. We can easily download soft copies of books within a few seconds while going to public libraries consumes a lot of time. Besides, people can store thousands of copies on their small computer device where these books will require a large space if we want to main physical copies. Moreover, we can share books online with our friends within seconds without losing our own copies. These facilities cannot be found in the libraries.

However, the main functions of the libraries are not just limited to providing books. Public library is a place where people of different ages and profession can get together and share their knowledge and experience with each other. As a result, not only will our knowledge increase but brotherhood among the people will also increase. Besides, in the libraries, we can found authentic copies of the original books which cannot be easily found on internet, especially in the case of free copies or cheap copies. This is helpful for those who are doing research or higher studies as they can use authentic references for their thesis or assignments.

In conclusion, the need for public libraries is inevitable though online technology can give us instant solution. This is because library is a great place to share our knowledge with different kinds of people and is a place where we can find authentic books.