Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The developing of the different infrastructures has forced governments to increase the expenses dedicated to modifying the current railway map against the money spent on roads. Some people agree with this decision, while others share an opposite opinion about this. This essay will partly agree with this statement because in my view both expenditures are needed.

On the one hand, trains are safer and more comfortable in comparison with automobiles and motorbikes. In other words, travel by this mode of transport is considered more relaxing because it not required the individual’s attention on the road, so the passenger feels generally less stressed using the train. Also, as far as safety is concerned, statistically the number of accidents occurred on the road are dramatically higher compared to trains. To illustrate, the latest statistic showed that the total of victims of collisions on roads last year, was three times higher respect to railways. Therefore, governments should invest in new and improved railways that will encourage people to use this mode of transport, and also will impact on reducing accidental hitting.

On the other hand, it can be denied that the number of drivers is increasing every year, who require good quality roads. This means that there are every time more car’s owners who need this mode of transport to travel and work, and who the status of some remote roads do not allow them to arrive at their destination. For example, in some countries such as the UK, roads were built a hundred years ago, due to the meteorology and lack of maintaining have become impassable for humans. To facilitate access to these roads, governments should as well as with railways spend money on roads.

Taking all the above into consideration, both modes of transport are required to be well maintained, governments might dedicate part of the expenses to improve, rebuilt and develop new railways and roads map for the benefit of the society.