Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are people who believe that history should be one of the main subjects at school. However, others argue that science and technology bring more benefits than History. In this essay I will discuss both arguments and I will provide my personal opinion.

On the one hand, an important subject such as history leads students to know in depth how other culture were. This means, learning the style of life, types of food, rituals and beliefs form old generations helps individual to understand each other better. For example, the south of Spain has a huge influence from Morocco due to the past colonization. History, in this case, has contributed to make Spanish people aware of the Morocco’s culture, and have a close relationship among them.

On the other hand, science and technology knowledge helps students to develop basic skills that they might need for their future career. In other words, we live in a world where gadgets are used practically for everything, from jobs to travels. For instance, a recent survey published in the UK showed that the number of businesses that use technology to work increased to 30% in comparison to the previous year. Consequently, learning both subjects at school will make students to be professionally prepared.

In my opinion, history, and science and technology are equally important, all of them provide useful knowledge and I strongly believe that they should be kept as part as the school’s curriculum.