Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

To what extent do you agree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals consider that social networking sites, for instance Facebook, cause a negative effect among people and society in general. In my opinion, I neither disagree nor agree with this statement.

On the one hand, social networking sites help to maintain relationships with friends and relatives closer. For example, people who live far from their families may use these sites as a way of communication with them and to share photos from especial occasions. Additionally, social networking sites also help to find people who we have lost contact with. Therefore, social networking sites would help to build social support and keep close to those who live in different countries or cities.

On the other hand, the amount of time that children and teenagers spend using Facebook or Instagram is dramatically increasing, but at the same time they are decreasing the time dedicated to important tasks such as study. Youth and children waste time posting not just photos from particular moments, but pictures and comments for every single act of their lives. This wasting may lead to fail exams or obtain low results at school. Moreover, a second negative impact that these sites can cause is that some people use the anonymity that social networking platforms allow to harm others, for example bullying. Therefore, the lack of regulation and protection to the users of these sites make some people to consider social networking sites as a negative consequence that may have a dramatic end.

In conclusion, I cannot disagree or agree totally with the main statement because social networking sites in my opinion have positive impact such as keeping individuals close

despite the distance, and negative impact as the use of these tools to harm others without being identified.