Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

It is true that some people say government ought to allocate more of their budget to rail than roadways. While I agree that railway system should be invested more money to develop, I believe there are some important factors need to be taken into account before building this system.

On the one hand, there are many advantages we can see from railway transport. First of all, it is an efficient transport system that allow us to commute over long distances faster than road transport. In Japan, a high speed train can obtain a speed of 240 km/h, which is three times faster than a car. As a result, travel time to work is reduced, people has more time to rest and relax. Furthermore, locomotives tend to be less harmful to the environment than cars because nowadays electricity becomes the major energy source of subway trains. Because of that, the consumption of fossil fuel may reduce significantly and less amount of carbon emissions is released into the air.

On the other hand, railway transport has certainly serious limitation. One major problems is the cost of construction, maintenance and overhead expenses are very expensive compared to roadways. For many developing countries, if there are no careful consideration and highly supported funding from other rich countries, this may be difficult to accomplish. For example, Saigon’s first metro in Vietnam has faced seven times delays due to the lack of funding from the central government. Also, railway transport is unsuitable and uneconomical for short distance and small traffic of goods as roadways.

In conclusion, although trains seem to be faster and more environmentally friendly, the economic efficiency need to be examine before deciding choose one of two transport: rail or roadways.