Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, the development of the railway system has reached a new level, while the development of the road system has never stopped as well. Although some people believe that government ought to allocate more of their budget to rail than roadways, I totally agree that railways will be better for society.

To begin with, for travel, people care about security most. Actually, traffic accidents occurred on trains are much less than which on private cars according to research. This is easy to understand, when driving cars, we must be fully concentrated and focus on the road, in that case we will get tired easily, without timely rest, accidents are easy to happen. However, when taking the train, we don’t need to care about the driving issues because this daunting task was handed over to professionals, what’s more, we would feel relaxed due to higher speed and better efficiency.

Another reason for I stand on the railway side is that it is more environmental friendly. Unlike previous coal trains, most high-speed railways today use electricity as an energy source, including subways in cities. Yet modern cars still use fossil fuel, which produce a lot of pollution. In spite of hybrid or electric vehicle has already came into being, the problem of low reliability and short battery life needs to be handled.

Admittedly, we can not ignore the advantage of road transportation. Travel with private cars means convenient, freedom and fun to drive, in addition, self-driving traveling depends on the complete freeway. But, we should find the question through our further eyes, when the railway system is fully built, for short travel we may use light rail, for long-distance travel we can use high-speed rail. Traffic accidents are reduced and pollution is prevented, this is the future we want to see.