Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. The say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Some people hold the opinion that the recycling for waste from homes is not good enough right now, so laws on this need to established. I am going to give the counterargument to that, although let more waste be recycled is absolutely the right thing, making it a legal requirement is not a wise choice for government.

Firstly, I will explain why it is unreasonable to set up the law. It is fair to say that the laws can have short-term effects, as breaking the law often means punishment, From simple criticism education to fines and even arrests, there are many mandatory means to use. Out of fear, people do increase the recycling rate of garbage, but in the long run, people will try to escape the law through some extreme methods, this will only be counterproductive.

So what should the government do? I believe that education, rather than punishment, can help even more. Using new laws to force people to recycle would not change this situation, because the production of rubbish can not be decreased as well as ordinary people know little about garbage recycling. To solve this problem, the authorities should play the role of a guide. On one hand, they need to provide sufficient information about garbage classification for the masses, so that the recycling of trash would be much easier. On another hand, building more garbage disposal station will enhance the efficiency of recycling and in that case, more household trash can be used.

To sum up, law is a way, not an aim. The ultimate goal should be to reduce environmental pollution and save energy, just relying on the law is useless.